Development, Sustainability

Check out “Jersey Urbanism – What South Jersey’s Doing Right”

So a few days ago, I wrote a piece on New Urbanism, which is something I’m passionate about. Specifically, I wrote about how its tenants of walkable communities, smart land-use patterns, and a turning away from dependence on cars could be seen in South Jersey, a place generally though of for its sprawling suburbia.

I started out wanting to write the article to dispell the notion that that sprawling suburbia was all that the area had to offer. But honestly, I discovered more that’s going on here regarding smart development than I even realized. We’ve got a really great thing going on here, and I think we’ll see a lot more of it in the future. Here’s an excerpt and a link to the full article:

I’m not afraid to say it: I live in South Jersey. Considering that I’m an ardent urbanist, this might seem confusing. When we talk about urbanism, we’re usually debating Jane Jacobs’ theories about what makes Philadelphia a beautiful place or what Robert Moses brought to New York City in the early 20th century. But taken more generally, the quality of life that New Urbanism espouses isn’t endemic to big cities. What we’re really talking about is walkable communities, smart land usage, and a general shift away from dependence on cars to get around. So how does this relate to where I live? It might be surprising, but you can find examples of all of this in South Jersey.

You can read the whole thing on the This Old City blog at http://thisoldcity.com/vignettes/photos-jersey-urbanism-what-south-jerseys-doing-right

Standard

Let me know what you think.

